Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: X-country flights

X-country flights

This is NOT a thread about racing.

I am not Peter's "straight man". Most of you know now that I am a new glider pilot with lots of questions and Peter has responded with lots of answers. Others have responded also and I thank them as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Peter Kelly View Post
    Russ,
    I evaluated the day's soaring conditions, and based upon that, I was confident that the ASW24 was not capable of completing that particular task, on that particular day. On other days, and on other tracks, it could easily be accomplished.
    Peter,

I think I now understand that you are referring to the weather conditions Saturday which would not allow a Standard class glider to complete that task successfully.

I would greatly appreciate your evaluation of the weather conditions Saturday, so us new x-country students, can have a better understanding of the issues involved?

This is a discussion, so open for anyone to respond.

Russ
    Last edited by Russ Pillard; 05-05-2015 at 04:41 PM. Reason: Minor edit

Re: X-country flights

Russ,
    If you have not already, buy & read this book, Helmut Reichmann's Cross Country Soaring:
    https://www.cumulus-soaring.com/book...trySoaring.htm

This is one of the best, if not the best book on cross country soaring. Lays out the theory with practical examples in an easy to read manner. I always point to examples in this book. This will answer many of your Qs while giving an overall context.

Weather is a different topic, and for that, buy & read this book:
    https://www.cumulus-soaring.com/book...yAndFlight.htm

Hope this helps, but keep asking Qs, while reading these books.
    Kemp
    ASH-25 (FNX)

Kemp,

Thanks for the recommendations, I have ordered both books from Paul.

Russ

Russ,

I would also recommend this brand new book by G Dale (UK coach and Club Class Team pilot): The Soaring Engine Volume 1